New Life for an Old Blanket

curtains1.jpg
Before.

About 6 years ago, I got this blanket at an SCA event. It was just after a thunderstorm and it was the only remotely dry thing I had to wrap myself up in (since my blankets had been saturated…long story…). Years later, here it is thumbtacked to the bedroom window in our new house.

Well, I got inspired.

curtains2.jpg

I took the blanket down and folded it in half widthwise, so that the design would be symmetrical and it would still be wide enough and long enough to cover my window. Then I cut it in half, hemmed up the raw edges, and made a simple casing at the top of each.

curtains3.jpg
I saw a fancy curtain rod similar to this one at JoAnn for $30. But today, I saw this one at Family Dollar for $6! (I’ll share my feelings on recent changes at JoAnn sometime soon.) I stood on the end table (don’t worry, it’s a good sturdy one) and used a phillips-head screwdriver to put it up in no time.

curtains4.jpg
The casing was a little snug, but it still fit.

curtains5.jpg
After.

And, ta da! It makes a beautiful set of curtains, don’t you think?

2 Comments

Filed under blanket, curtains, easy projects, sewing

2 responses to “New Life for an Old Blanket

  1. Never would I have dreamt that this experience would come back to help me and guide me years later a s I began to face my own chronic physical struggles .

Leave a Reply

