So far, sockcessful.

firstsock2.jpg

I’ve been saying it for years: I want to learn how to knit, because I want to learn how to make socks. Sure a sweater would be nice from time to time, but what I really want to make is socks.

And so, at the first of this year, I set out teaching myself to knit. And now, eight or so months later, I’ve taken the plunge and have started on my first attempt at hosiery. Here’s my cute foot modeling the progress, and no I’m not actually making the thing around my foot as I go!


The pattern comes from the book Charmed Knits by Alison Hansel (do look into getting a copy if you or someone you love is into Harry Potter!). It’s the pattern for the house colored striped socks, but I decided to walk before I run and just do it in one yarn instead of stripes. The yarn is Froehlich blau…something (I think I threw away the label…) and one skein is proving more than enough to make a pair of socks.

firstsock1.jpg

Some stuff I’ve learned already:

  • The first few rows are the toughest. After a while, though, it’s much less tangly and falls more into place.
  • I don’t get “ssk”. If what they mean is slip 2 then knit, why don’t they just say that? And in the case of this pattern, it seems what it really wants is “k2tog” in order to get the stitch count it claims I should achieve. So that’s what I did and it looks just fine.
  • When making a stockinette stitch in the round, the side towards you (or me at least) is the side that has the pretty little “v”s on it. Somehow after shaping the heel I got my direction switched and had pretty little “v”s on the inside and bumpitties on the outside. I figured out my mistake after two rounds though.
  • What side the yarn is on when making a stitch really does make a difference in texture.
  • Shaping the heel makes very little sense. The direction was confusing. But after a couple tries I realized what it was saying and got it, no sweat.
  • I’ve been told this one: as soon as this sock is done, I should cast on the second one immediately or I may never get to it!
  • It really isn’t as intimidating as I thought it would be.

I’ll keep you posted as to my progress.

3 Comments

Filed under knit, socks

3 responses to “So far, sockcessful.

  1. Sleepycat

    Yay for socks! Those are cute. You can crochet socks too, ya know. They go tons faster. http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=crochet%20socks&w=all ;-)

    What it means by ssk is slip the two stitches from the left needle to the right needle while turning them around so they face backwards. Not twisting them together, slip them individually. Then knit them together. The point to it all is that if you just knit 2 together your resulting stitch leans one direction but if you flip the stitches around and then knit them together the resulting stitch leans the opposite direction. You’ll see this again when you hit the toe decreases. The pattern will tell you to ssk on one side and k2tog on the other side so your decreasing stitches will all point toward your toes.

  2. I’ve considered crocheting socks in the past but I really prefer the look and texture of knitted ones, not to mention the yarn economy.

    Thank you so much for that explanation! That makes way more sense.

  3. madrigali

    You’ve probably figured it out by now, but “ssk” is a decrease as well. It forms a left-leaning decrease instead of the right-leaning decrease of a k2tog. What you do is Slip 1 stitch as if to knit, slip the second stitch as if to knit, place both back on the left needle and knit through the back.

    Check out http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art7696.asp for some pictures.

Leave a Reply

