Hello to Toastier Toes!

rugfinished_closeup.jpg

I made a new rug for the guest room, using your standard Lion Wool-Ease (4 strands at a time), a booklet I found secondhand on making rugs with a Q-hook, and a hook (I went instead with a P-hook, as my stitches can often run a bit loose).

Some important stuff I learned about making rugs:

  • They’re quick.
  • They’re easy.
  • They only take a couple days.
  • They’re soft and smooshy.
  • They use LOTS of yarn.

rugfinished.jpg
This particular rug used 4 skeins each of blue and grey. I have very little of each left over. I was thinking matching “halfghan” but it’s not enough yarn.

It’s in our back room (our 2nd bedroom) now. So much cold seeps up through the floor, and the landlords still haven’t insulated the basement ceiling, so I decided it’s time I did something. so here it is!

7 Comments

Filed under crochet, FO, rugs

7 responses to “Hello to Toastier Toes!

  1. Val

    Ooh, cool! I sense maybe a Noob Monday project???

    I wanna make a rug – that would be cool in the pavilion in the summer. Wonder if they’re period? Or maybe you could do a braided rug Noob Monday?

  2. Crocheting (short answer) isn’t period. It didn’t really come about until the early 18th or so.

    I can’t use this particular rug pattern for a pattern I post here, because I got it from a copyrighted book and (much as I like pirates, yarrrr) I just don’t think it’s right to publish it here.

    But, I can teach some basics I suppose. A braided rug could work but that means I’d have to make one, lol.

  3. Val

    Crocheting isn’t period? Really? Didn’t they crochet lace? Or is it just that crocheted rugs aren’t period? (not trying to be a brat – just curious. *grin* I’ll have to look this up)

    And braided rugs could be fun. I really want to try this (probably because the scarf I’m working on is boring me to tears at the moment).

  4. Lace was made in different ways prior to crochet’s “discovery” (for want of a better word). One was with bobbins, as I’m sure you’ve seen done at events. This was how Elizabethan ruffs were made. Another method was the Punta in Aria (“Stitches in the air”) method [picture], produced in Venice in the 16th and 17th Centuries, which was done by pulling fine linen threads together in such a way as to create a lacy fabric.

    With aforementioned bobbin lace, a single loop drawn through with a hook is occasionally used; however, there’s only one loop made and they’re less than 1% of most bobbin lace patterns.

    The good news is, most people don’t know that crocheting isn’t period (I base this on the number of people I’ve mentioned it to, heh). If you put a hand-crocheted rug in the pavilion, chances are pretty slim that the Period Police are going to lay the smackdown on you. And even if they do, you can always give the “Well, I know it technically isn’t period, but there you have it anyway.” Authenticity People seem to respect someone who breaches the “rules” so long as they know and acknowlege that they’re breaking them.

    Sources:
    http://home.aol.com/lclacemker/bobbinlacepage1.html
    http://www.lacemakerslace.oddquine.co.uk/history.html
    http://www.marlamallett.com/lace.htm
    http://www.florilegium.org/files/TEXTILES/crochet-FAQ.html

  5. You forgot to mention “They’re murder on your hands”! No actually, my poor hands were slaughtered by the time I finished working with a Q hook and 4 strands. A P hook was better, I must admit.
    Thanks for dropping by my blog 🙂

    [I didn’t find them that difficult on my hands, really; I just kept the stitches nice and loose. I will agree, though, that a P hook is easier than a Q for me too. Go fig. And thank you for dropping by mine!]

  6. layla

    i have this crocheted rug book too! I love it and have found that using wool-ease thick and quick gives you the same result with much less yarn. about 1 skein or so, depending how many colors you use.

  7. guy

    Very interesting, I’ve made a few rugs in my time, wool uses much less yarn as layla said.

    Might make one of these just to try out.

Leave a Reply

